skip to main content
Principal's Newsletter -- February 28, 2018
Posted On:
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Good Evening Nolan Families - We wanted to take a moment to share some information about upcoming March events.

Our annual preschool visit and Kindergarten tour will take place this week on Thursday, March 1 beginning at 9:15 in the main lobby. Information has been shared with all area preschools, but please be sure to share this date with any families you know who have children entering Kindergarten next year.
 
There will be training session for all Junior Achievement JA in a Day volunteers on the afternoon of Thursday, March 1 from 6:00 to 6:45 in the library, and several activities will be taking place throughout the school on Friday, March 2 as we celebrate Read Across America Day.
 
Our Kindergarten students will have a field trip to the Tivoli Theatre on Tuesday, March 6 and there will be a PTA meeting on the evening of Tuesday, March 6 beginning at 7:00 with our 3rd grade students performing.
 
Our Kindergarten students will have an EPB enrichment activity on Wednesday, March 7, and the final Tech Town afterschool session of the year focusing on film and video will begin that afternoon as well with parents registering their children on the Nolan website.
 
Our 1st grade students will have an EPB enrichment activity on Thursday, March 8, and our JA in a Day event will take place on Friday, March 9. The SMMHS Eagles Next Track Event will also take place on Friday, March 9 beginning at 4:30 and the Girl Scout Dance will take place on that evening as well beginning at 6:30 in the Nolan gym.
The Drama Club school performance will take place on Monday, March 12 beginning at 1:00, and our 4th grade students will have an enrichment activity with Ben Roy on Tuesday, March 13. The Drama Club evening performance will also take place on Tuesday, March 13 beginning at 7:00, and our Nolan Volunteer Luncheon will take place on Wednesday, March 14.
There will be no school for students on Friday, March 16 as this will be a teacher professional development day and our Nolan STEM Kart team will participate in a race in Huntsville on Saturday, March 17.
Our March Character Assembly will take place on Tuesday, March 20 beginning at 9:15, and our Nolan and Thrasher Bright Spark team will participate in an awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 20 at the Volkswagen plant.
Our 5th grade students will have an enrichment activity with Ben Roy on Wednesday, March 21 and spring group and individual pictures will be taken on Thursday, March 22. Our 2nd grade students will have a Creative Discovery Museum enrichment activity on Friday, March 23 and report cards will go home with students that afternoon.
Our summer reading book fair sponsored by the library will take place during the week of Monday, March 26 through Thursday, March 29 and there will be a Junior Garden Club activity for 2nd grade students on Tuesday, March 27.
Finally, there will be no school for students on Friday, March 30 in observance of Good Friday as spring break begins.
In closing, we want to be sure that everyone received the letter that was sent home earlier this week regarding the Mountain Education Foundation. With the percentage of families actively donating to MEF reflecting a decrease, the principals at all three schools felt inclined to send this communication home to our parents as a reminder of the importance of MEF and how we all must help. In order for all of us to continue enjoying the extras that our children are afforded each day that are a direct result of MEF support, we must all reflect on our giving and do our part in supporting our wonderful Signal Mountain schools. If you haven't already, please take action and either become a new MEF donor or renew your pledges as our donations in support of our children are now more important than ever!
As always, thank you for your support!
-Shane D. Harwood, Ed.D.
View all Latest News