Principal's Newsletter -- November 30, 2017
Posted On:
Thursday, November 30, 2017
News Image

Good Evening Nolan Families - We wanted to take a moment to share some information regarding upcoming December events.  

Our Nolan robotics team will be competing in the Chattanooga area qualifier tournament on Saturday, December 2 at Red Bank Middle School, and the PTA food drive will begin on Monday, December 4 and continue through Friday, December 8 with students bringing in food donations to support the Signal Mountain Social Services annual Christmas basket deliveries.  

Our 2nd grade students will be going on a field trip to the Tivoli Theatre on Wednesday, December 6, and our 1st and 3rd grade students will be going on a field trip to the Bachman play on Thursday, December 7.  

Our K-3 students will participate in a district bus safety presentation on Friday, December 8, and the annual Signal Mountain Social Services Christmas basket deliveries will take place at Nolan on the morning of Saturday, December 9 beginning at 8:30 a.m.  

Our Spelling Bee for grades 4 and 5 will take place on Tuesday, December 12 beginning with the 4th grade bee at 9:15 a.m.  

Entries for the PTA Cookie Decorating Contest are due by Tuesday, December 12, and there will be a PTA meeting with our Kindergarten and 5th grade students performing on that evening beginning at 7:00 p.m.  

We will have a character assembly and holiday sing-a-long on Tuesday, December 19 beginning at 9:15 a.m. with classroom holiday parties taking place after the assembly.  

There will only be a 1/2 day of school on Tuesday, December 19 with early dismissal beginning at 12:15.  

There will be no school for students on Wednesday, December 20 through Friday, January 5 for winter break, and school will re-open on Monday, January 8.  

In closing, we want to encourage everyone to consider a year-end donation to the Mountain Education Foundation.  As you know, MEF provides our Signal Mountain schools with additional funding that allows our students to receive art and STEM instruction, enhanced technology offerings, and other resources that support the wonderful teaching and learning taking place each day.  

As always, thanks for your support as we look forward to the second part of our school year! 

Shane D. Harwood, Ed.D.

 

View all Latest News